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	<title>Should You Start A Company &#187; sales forecast</title>
	<atom:link href="http://ceoresource.com/blog/tag/sales-forecast/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://ceoresource.com/blog</link>
	<description>Helping Get You From Your Current Point A to Your Desired Point B</description>
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		<title>Entrepreneurs:  The Two Top Priorities For Your Start Up Company And Business Plan</title>
		<link>http://ceoresource.com/blog/2008/04/26/entrepreneurs-the-two-top-priorities-for-your-start-up-company-and-business-plan/</link>
		<comments>http://ceoresource.com/blog/2008/04/26/entrepreneurs-the-two-top-priorities-for-your-start-up-company-and-business-plan/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sat, 26 Apr 2008 19:04:06 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Chief Dragon Slayer</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Business Plans]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Dragons - Revenues]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Entrepreneurs]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Start Up Companies]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[break even]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[business plan]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[cash balance]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[cash flow]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[customers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Forecasting Sales For A Start Up Company]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[marketing costs]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[operating costs]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[personnel]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[priorities]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[revenues]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[sales]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[sales forecast]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[start up]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[startup costs]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://ceoresource.com/blog/2008/04/26/entrepreneurs-the-two-top-priorities-for-your-start-up-company-and-business-plan/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[As an entrepreneur with your business plan in hand, what are the two top priorities you have on every day&#8217;s action list as you start up your start up company?
Starting and running a company can be overwhelming.  Endless new action items seem to appear magically on your To Do List as you day develops [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>As an entrepreneur with your business plan in hand, what are the two top priorities you have on every day&#8217;s action list as you start up your start up company?</p>
<p>Starting and running a company can be overwhelming.  Endless new action items seem to appear magically on your To Do List as you day develops &#8211; with all of them either whispering or screaming to be your top priority.  And, when the day is done, it often seems that one or more of those unanticipated priorities won &#8211; and the most important action items you originally had on your list when you walked into your office this morning did not get done &#8211; again.</p>
<p>So, how is an entrepreneur to decide on their priorities &#8211; especially when there is so much that needs to be done?  The answer is surprisingly easy.<span id="more-40"></span></p>
<ol start="1" type="1">
<li>Priority      1:  Absolute top priority for the CEO      of a start up company:  maintaining      a comfortable cash balance.  That&#8217;s      what is in your checking account.       It cannot go to zero or go negative.  Period.Every morning, everything on your priority list has got to focus on either      maintaining or increasing your cash balance so that, as a minimum, it      exceeds your comfort level.       Everything else is secondary.If this is not your top priority, you greatly increase your risk that you      will go out of business.</li>
</ol>
<ol start="2" type="1">
<li>Priority      2:  The only thing that is close in      priority&#8230;but that is still second to Cash Balance&#8230;is generating positive      cash flow from operations.  If you      have this, a lot of #1 is automatically taken care of.  Remember, even the smallest of cuts that      never stops bleeding will eventually kill you.Get above break-even as quickly as you can and stay there.  There are two basic ways to do      this:  increase sales and cut costs.      Running lean and keeping costs low by cutting all fat but no muscle is      almost always a good idea.However, you can only cut so much and still have the infrastructure that      you need to be in business.  That      leaves sales as the primary way to get above break-even and stay      there.  Every day, your Priority 2      should be driving sales &#8211; including short-term and long-term      revenues.  For a start up company, I      recommend that the CEO spend half of      every day on action items that directly relate to marketing and generating      sales.</li>
<li>Priorities      3 &#8211; 101?  See Priority 1 and      Priority 2.  Yes, they are that      important.</li>
</ol>
<ol start="4" type="1">
<li>Priorities      102 &#8211; 1,001?  Items that at least      indirectly, but positively, help Priority 1 and 2.  Period.</li>
</ol>
<ol start="5" type="1">
<li>Priorities      1,002 &#8211; 10,000?  Everything else      required to run and grown your company.</li>
</ol>
<p>Ignoring this pecking order of priorities is why most start up companies fail&#8230;so slay those dragons every day by focusing on Priority 1 and Priority 2.</p>
<p>How do you know what a comfortable cash balance is for your company?  How do you know where real break-even occurs with your current products and services?</p>
<p>You have a realistic business plan &#8211; and you measure actual versus budget every month.</p>
<p>Too many entrepreneurs make a huge mistake throwing together their business plan with sweeping generalizations that skew their projection so badly that their whole plan really is a case of GIGO &#8211; Garbage In / Garbage Out.  The only thing worse than going the wrong direction based on Garbage Out &#8211; is to go the wrong direction, enthusiastically.</p>
<p>A bad business plan usually gets you going the wrong direction, often enthusiastically.  The result is that most entrepreneurs don&#8217;t recognize this problem until it is too late to change direction and save their company.</p>
<p>What makes much more sense is taking the time to generate realistic and meaningful start up, revenue, personnel and operating cost numbers for your new start up company.  If you need help, get experienced mentoring from someone who has the expertise you need &#8211; someone who can ensure your underlying assumptions make sense for your company in the real world.</p>
<p>Then, you can use your business plan to know how much start up capital you will really need, where your cash balance will be each month and each year&#8230;and when you will get to sustained positive cash flow from operations.</p>
<p>With this knowledge, you will know how to best invest your Priority 1 and Priority 2 time on your start up company to get you maximum results.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<item>
		<title>Business Plans:  The Second Biggest Mistake Entrepreneurs Make With Their Business Plan For Their Start Up Company</title>
		<link>http://ceoresource.com/blog/2008/04/06/business-plans-the-second-biggest-mistake-entrepreneurs-make-with-their-business-plan-for-their-start-up-company/</link>
		<comments>http://ceoresource.com/blog/2008/04/06/business-plans-the-second-biggest-mistake-entrepreneurs-make-with-their-business-plan-for-their-start-up-company/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Sun, 06 Apr 2008 20:55:57 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Chief Dragon Slayer</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Business Plans]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Dragons - False Economy]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Entrepreneurs]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Funding Foreplay]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Start Up Companies]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Start Up Company University]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Start Up Company Workshop]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[bean counter]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[business model]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[business plan]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[business planning]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[ceo coach]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[cheap business plan]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[coaching]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[customers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[entrepreneur]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[financial projections]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Forecasting Sales For A Start Up Company]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[marketing costs]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mba]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mentor]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[operating costs]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[personnel]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[revenues]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Robert Lee Goodman]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[sales]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[sales forecast]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[saving money]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[start up]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[start up costs]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[startup costs]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://ceoresource.com/blog/2008/04/06/business-plans-the-second-biggest-mistake-entrepreneurs-make-with-their-business-plan-for-their-start-up-company/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[This one mistake is so critical that it jeopardizes the immediate survivability of your start up company &#8211; even before you get started.
What is the second biggest mistake?
Many cost-sensitive entrepreneurs depend on number crunchers, bean counters and newly minted MBAs for their projections &#8211; just to save a few dollars.
New start up CEOs doom their [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>This one mistake is so critical that it jeopardizes the immediate survivability of your start up company &#8211; even before you get started.</p>
<p>What is the second biggest mistake?</p>
<p>Many cost-sensitive entrepreneurs depend on number crunchers, bean counters and newly minted MBAs for their projections &#8211; just to save a few dollars.</p>
<p>New start up CEOs doom their new company by pinching pennies in the wrong place. Instead, what they need are pivotal insights from experienced consultants who can provide the guidance the entrepreneur needs for producing a realistic, genuinely implementable business plan.</p>
<p>Your business plan is not some academic document &#8211; instead, it is your crucial road map to successful implementation of your vision for your new company.</p>
<p>The most important part of any business plan is the detailed financial projections that are the basis for the entire business model of every new start up company.  There are four sets of underlying assumptions that drive all the projections:<span id="more-39"></span></p>
<ol start="1" type="1">
<li>Start up costs &#8211; what will you need to spend up      front to get the company going?</li>
<li>Sales forecast &#8211; the single most important set      of assumptions for your whole plan &#8211; how many of what, will you sell, for      how much, at what costs, when?</li>
<li>Personnel &#8211; how many, of what kind of employees,      will you need at what cost, when?</li>
<li>Operating costs &#8211; what will it really cost to be      in business, generate sales, give necessary sales support and exemplary      customer service and cover all back office expenses?</li>
</ol>
<p>Every part of your financial projections is just arithmetic &#8211; based on those four sets of driving assumptions.  Because it is just arithmetic, many entrepreneurs make the often fatal mistake of assuming it is trivial and can be done easily and cheaply.</p>
<p>But &#8211; if you guess wrong on any of these assumptions, then most of your projections are wrong &#8211; including two of your most important projections:  your cash flow and your capital needs.  If you guess wrong on your assumptions that impact these, then you will probably run out of money and your new company will fail.</p>
<p>Number crunchers and bean counters are great at arithmetic.  So are newly minted MBAs. And, they can be relatively cheap to hire. But this cheap hire may be the most expensive mistake you will make as a start up CEO.</p>
<p>These cheap hires almost never have any experience base or expertises that help entrepreneurs make meaningful assumptions.  So, entrepreneurs who use this approach for their business plans end up with GIGO:  garbage in, garbage out projections that are misleading at best &#8211; but more often, fatal in the end.</p>
<p>As the adage goes, the only thing worse than going the wrong direction &#8211; is going the wrong direction enthusiastically. By basing your business plan on the wrong assumptions, you end up going the wrong direction &#8211; probably enthusiastically &#8211; believing your bean counter-generated plan will be the path to wealth.</p>
<p>Entrepreneurs who have thought they were saving a few hundred dollars by hiring cheap number crunchers or inexperienced MBAs, end up losing everything they&#8217;ve invested in their new company &#8211; all because they were penny wise &#8211; and dollar foolish &#8211; or rather, thousands, hundreds of thousands or millions of dollars foolish.</p>
<p>Cash is always limited for start up companies &#8211; but this is one place you do not want to get trapped by false savings.</p>
<p>What&#8217;s the best way for you to avoid the second biggest mistake for your new start up company?</p>
<p>Hire an experienced management consultant who specializes in start up companies &#8211; particularly a consultant who has started at least a dozen of their own companies.  That way, you get insights based on real life experience that will help you end up with a genuinely implementable plan for the future &#8211; your future and the future of your new start up company.</p>
<p>Ceo Resource LLC has specialized in cost-effectively helping over 2,000 entrepreneurs and start up companies with their business planning for the past 14 years.</p>
<p>Please check out our services at:</p>
<p><a href="http://www.shouldyoustartacompanytoday.com/" target="_blank">www.ShouldYouStartACompanyToday.com</a>   &lt;~~  Sample documents and blog</p>
<p><a href="http://www.chiefdragonslayer.com/" target="_blank">www.ChiefDragonSlayer.com</a> &lt;~~~ Business plans and planning</p>
<p><a href="http://www.startupcompanymentoring.com/" target="_blank">www.StartUpCompanyMentoring.com</a> &lt;~~~ 1:1 CEO coaching, consulting and mentoring</p>
<p><a href="http://www.startupcompanyworkshop.com/" target="_blank">www.StartUpCompanyWorkshop.com</a> &lt;~~~ 1:1 Insights to design your own business model, your business plan, your own future</p>
<p><a href="http://www.startupcompanyuniversity.com/" target="_blank">www.StartUpCompanyUniversity.com</a> &lt;~~ Training courses for the entrepreneur and start up CEO</p>
<p>Wishing you stellar success for your start up company,</p>
<p>Robert Lee Goodman, MBA</p>
]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://ceoresource.com/blog/2008/04/06/business-plans-the-second-biggest-mistake-entrepreneurs-make-with-their-business-plan-for-their-start-up-company/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
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		<item>
		<title>Business Plans and Entrepreneur Mentoring:  Recent Business Plans for Start Up Company Clients and CEOs</title>
		<link>http://ceoresource.com/blog/2008/03/23/business-plans-and-entrepreneur-mentoring-recent-business-plans-for-start-up-company-clients-and-ceos/</link>
		<comments>http://ceoresource.com/blog/2008/03/23/business-plans-and-entrepreneur-mentoring-recent-business-plans-for-start-up-company-clients-and-ceos/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 24 Mar 2008 03:38:52 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Chief Dragon Slayer</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Business Plans]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Ceo Resource LLC]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Entrepreneurs]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Start Up Companies]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[business plan]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[CEO]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[consulting]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Forecasting Sales For A Start Up Company]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[marketing costs]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[mentoring]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[operating costs]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[personnel]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[revenues]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[sales]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[sales forecast]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[start up]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[start up company]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[startup]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[startup costs]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://ceoresource.com/blog/2008/03/23/business-plans-and-entrepreneur-mentoring-recent-business-plans-for-start-up-company-clients-and-ceos/</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[This post will give  you some idea of the very extensive range of start up industries in which I have  consulted and provided business plans, business planning, consulting and mentoring.
One of the many great things about my profession is working with so many bright  entrepreneurs and CEOs in so many interesting businesses [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>This post will give  you some idea of the very extensive range of start up industries in which I have  consulted and provided business plans, business planning, consulting and mentoring.</p>
<p>One of the many great things about my profession is working with so many bright  entrepreneurs and CEOs in so many interesting businesses &#8211; and providing them with pivotal help to accelerate the success of their vision. <span id="more-35"></span></p>
<p>(There are so many others &#8211; which are so proprietary in nature &#8211; that I can&#8217;t  even list their industry here!).</p>
<table style="font-size: 9px; font-family: Tahoma" align="center" border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0">
<tr>
<td style="font-size: 9px; font-family: Tahoma" align="left" valign="top" width="166"><span style="font-size: 9pt">Biotech<br />
Chemicals<br />
Software<br />
Internet Services<br />
Online Gaming<br />
Automotive Care<br />
E-tailing  Services<br />
Medical Services<br />
Dentistry<br />
Medical Practice<br />
Non-Profits<br />
Mortuary Services<br />
Computer Maintenance<br />
Financial  Services<br />
Mergers / Acquisitions<br />
Due Diligence<br />
Systems and Procedures<br />
Resort Time Share<br />
Executive Recruiting<br />
Technical Recruiting<br />
Adult Online Services<br />
Inventions<br />
Call Center Outsourcing<br />
Farming<br />
Tobacco E-tailing<br />
Christian Services<br />
Accounting Services<br />
Internet  Service Providers<br />
Day Trading<br />
Internet Cafe<br />
Dental  Devices<br />
Sub-division Development<br />
Quick Print<br />
Property  Appraisal<br />
Hotel Resort<br />
Internet Radio<br />
Online Poker<br />
Continuing  Education<br />
Window/Door Manufacturing<br />
Portable Self-Storage<br />
Hair  Replacement<br />
Book Publishing<br />
Data Warehousing<br />
Social Networks<br />
Dome  Construction</span></td>
<td align="left" valign="top" width="167"><font style="font-size: 9pt">Global Project  Services</font><font style="font-size: 9pt"><br />
Income Property Pro Forma<br />
Multi-Family Operations<br />
Commercial Real Estate Analysis<br />
Real Estate Due Diligence<br />
Charitable  Organizations<br />
Training &amp; Seminars<br />
Mortgage Brokerage<br />
Marketing  Services<br />
Tennis Instruction<br />
Sports Arena<br />
Auto Dealerships<br />
Franchising<br />
Kennels<br />
Yoga Instruction<br />
Hunting / Fishing<br />
Retail Stores<br />
Web Services<br />
Gemstones<br />
Office Space Subleasing<br />
Concrete Design<br />
Day Spas<br />
Interior Design<br />
Cosmetics<br />
Health  Supplements<br />
Reverse Mergers<br />
Executive Coaching<br />
NASD  Broker-Dealer<br />
Computer Storage Devices<br />
Airport Advertising<br />
Sub-Prime  Auto Loans<br />
Coffee Services<br />
Stock Market Tracking<br />
Church  Fundraising<br />
Document Imaging<br />
Market Research Provider<br />
Church Business  Planning<br />
Cancer Pharmaceuticals<br />
Photographic Services<br />
Online  Matchmaking<br />
Artificial Intelligence<br />
Portable Self Storage<br />
International  Corp Relocation</font></td>
<td align="left" valign="top" width="172"><font style="font-size: 9pt">Museum Operations / Funding<br />
Stock Photography<br />
Record / Recording Studios<br />
Home Builders<br />
Domestic Violence  Foundation<br />
Online Real Estate Services<br />
Digestible Film Technology<br />
Property Management<br />
Condo Associations<br />
Apartment Acquisition<br />
Office Building Construction<br />
Data Storage Technology<br />
Self-Storage  Construction<br />
Miniwarehouse Operations<br />
Online Auctions<br />
Car Wash<br />
IT Consulting<br />
Online Auctions<br />
Virtual Personnel<br />
Computer  Hardware<br />
Distilled Spirits<br />
Hardware Manufacturing<br />
International  Telecom Services<br />
Online Music<br />
Financial Reporting Services<br />
Advertising<br />
Online Help Desk<br />
Feminine Hygiene<br />
Real Estate  Development<br />
Model Jet Aircraft<br />
Wireless Services<br />
Charter Jet  Service<br />
Bar and Grill<br />
Beach Resort and Marina<br />
Radio Station &#8211;  Terrestrial<br />
Auto Air Conditioning<br />
Magazine Publishing<br />
International  Business Corp.<br />
Online Automotive Trades<br />
CEO Coaching<br />
Collaborative  Software<br />
E-learning Software<br />
Renewable Energy<br />
Travel Cards</font></td>
</tr>
</table>
<p>International client locations include:  China, United Kingdom, Germany, France,  Netherlands, Israel, United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Australia, Singapore,  Thailand, Honk Kong, Japan, Taiwan, Canada, Brazil, Mexico, India, Cayman  Islands, Italy, Costa Rica, Spain, Belgium, Sweden, Pakistan, Austria, Russian  Federation, Philippines, New Zealand, Argentina, Panama, Antigua, Ireland,  Malaysia, Switzerland, Guatemala, South Africa.</p>
<p>If you need one on one consulting and mentoring, please see <a href="http://www.StartUpMentoring.com" target="_blank">www.StartUpMentoring.com</a> for pricing and details.  If you need a business plan or strategic or tactical business planning, please see <a href="http://www.ChiefDragonSlayer.com" target="_blank">www.ChiefDragonSlayer.com</a> for pricing and details. If you would like a very affordable course on developing your own business plan, please see <a href="http://www.BusinessPlanAudioCourse.com" target="_blank">www.BusinessPlanAudioCourse.com</a>.</p>
<p>My 14 plus years of providing this kind of broad diversity of top-level tactical and strategic planning enables me to quickly relate to your industry and specific business needs &#8211; which means you won&#8217;t have to spend extra time for me to come up to speed with your needs, your industry and your particular set of dragons that may be keeping you from success.</p>
]]></content:encoded>
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		<slash:comments>0</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Forecasting Sales For A Start Up Company</title>
		<link>http://ceoresource.com/blog/2008/01/18/forecasting-sales-for-a-start-up-company/</link>
		<comments>http://ceoresource.com/blog/2008/01/18/forecasting-sales-for-a-start-up-company/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Fri, 18 Jan 2008 17:09:38 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Chief Dragon Slayer</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Ceo Resource LLC]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Dragons - Revenues]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Start Up Company Workshop]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[StartUpQuestions.com]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[business plan]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[customers]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Forecasting Sales For A Start Up Company]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[marketing costs]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[operating costs]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[personnel]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[revenues]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[sales]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[sales forecast]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[start up]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[startup costs]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://ceoresource.com/blog/?p=26</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[As I get questions from readers from my Ask The Chief Dragon Slayer Campaign, I will take some of the questions that I think might have a broad audience and post them here on the blog.
This one is filed under “Dragons &#8211; Sales: How Do You Forecast Revenues For A Start Up Company?”
Question:
I am working [...]]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>As I get questions from readers from my <a href="http://www.startupcompanyquestions.com/" target="_blank">Ask The Chief Dragon Slayer Campaign</a>, I will take some of the questions that I think might have a broad audience and post them here on the blog.</p>
<p>This one is filed under “Dragons &#8211; Sales: How Do You Forecast Revenues For A Start Up Company?”</p>
<p><strong>Question:</strong></p>
<p>I am working on a quickie Excel spreadsheet I developed for a business plan for my internet startup company and am clueless how to even start getting a handle on my guessing my revenues for the first year, let alone the second and third years of my new company.  I obviously need to hire you for a lot of what I&#8217;m doing since I am also clueless about a lot of things and how to implement them &#8211; and it looks like you really have already done it all!  But I want to at least have a guess on revenues before I take the next step and start spending money.  Help!</p>
<p>Dennis</p>
<p><strong>Answer: </strong></p>
<p>I haven&#8217;t done it &#8220;all&#8221;&#8230;but in three decades, I have done a LOT when it comes to start up companies! Working with 2,000 start up companies can do that for you!</p>
<p>In answer to your question, projecting future sales for ANY company can be challenging &#8211; but it can be especially difficult for a start up company with no history for guidance.</p>
<p>Without spending time, effort and money with validated market research, it will be hard knowing the real size of both your addressed market and your target market.  For most small, start-up companies, their target market is substantially larger than the amount that will be actually captured in the first few years.  That having been said, you are still faced with the challenge most start up companies have:  predicting a realistic sales forecast.</p>
<p>Your sales forecast numbers are probably one of the most important assumptions you make in developing a business model for your new company.  Your sales numbers will have an interrelationship on many of the other numbers in your plan:  start up costs, personnel needs, advertising and marketing, support costs, how much space you lease, etc.</p>
<p>An excellent way to forecast sales is to <span id="more-26"></span>already KNOW your customer acquisition cost.  If you know when you spend $1,000 on advertising and marketing, that you end up with 10 new clients, then your customer acquisition cost would be $1,000 divided by $10 or $100.  In other words, if you know from history that it will cost you $100 to acquire and sell to a real, paying customer, then you figure out how much you are going to spend in Years 1, 2 and 3 and divide the amount spent by the customer acquisition cost.  The problem with this approach is that, for most start up companies, there is no history to know what the customer acquisition cost will be. (Hint: It will usually be a LOT higher than you would expect it to be!)</p>
<p>There is another basic rule of thumb that might still get us close&#8230;to spend about 10% of annual revenues on advertising, marketing and other sales related costs.  Although you can make the case that a start up should spend more or less than this, let&#8217;s assume for now that is what we will do.  So, this is what I would do for the first pass at your business model:</p>
<ul>
<li>Price your services and products with your best guess as to what the market will bear based on the competition or alternative choices your prospective customers have as ways to currently solve their problem.</li>
<li>Figure out how big you would LIKE to be in annual sales for Years 1, 2 and 3.  Say, $1 million, $3 million and $5 million (or whatever you think is reflective of YOUR vision).</li>
<li>Then, go back and figure out how many UNITS of your product and services that have to be sold each month or each year to accomplish this.</li>
<li>Then, figure out for each incremental UNIT you sell, what if any, incremental cost will you have associated with that new customer.  Use this amount in the Direct Unit Costs for that product or service.</li>
<li>That will take care of your sales forecast side.</li>
<li>Now look at the number of customers you will have each month and each year and extend your vision to see what kinds of people you will need in your organization to take care of all the issues that will be required to make the sale, collect the money, update the databases, support the customers, provide enhancements to the products and services, handle complaints, manage the company, pursue strategic alliances and partnerships and every other task you can envision FOR THE NUMBER of CUSTOMERS YOU ARE SHOWING IN YOUR SALE FORECAST.  List these folks in the Personnel Table with how much you think you will have to pay to get good people.  Be sure and take timing into account for the hiring.  You most probably won’t need everyone on Day 1 / Month 1.  Many you may not need until Month 5 or 6.  Many you may not need until Year 2 or Year 3.  People are usually the most expensive asset you add to your company so try and stay lean without sacrificing muscle development!</li>
<li>Lastly, look at each of the operating cost line items that I have in the Worksheet and try to imagine what it would cost for each item to both generate sales…and support an organization that is responsive to the growth of your vision and providing stellar support for your customers.  Again, this is where we plug in the 10% of Revenues for your total Sales and Marketing costs.</li>
<li>Finally, go back and fill in all the Start Up Costs you will require in the way of R&amp;D, computers, desk and chairs, excellent consultants!&#8230;and all the other stuff you will need to open the doors – taking your projected company size for Year 1 into account.</li>
</ul>
<p>By using this approach we have established a LOT of things somewhat independent of the revenue model we finally decide on using.  You have already set what revenue goals you have and what kind and size organization you will need to be in business&#8230;and the basic operating costs to provide the kinds of services in your vision.  These TYPE of costs will all change some&#8230;but surprisingly little.  The amounts for each can change a lot depending on the scalability of your numbers.</p>
<p>However, even if we change our revenue model, you will basically need the same kinds of folks doing the same kinds of things for the same pay&#8230;and have operating costs that will be close in most areas – with all of these just scaled up or down to reflect your changing revenue model.</p>
<p>Also, check out the 114 questions and my audio at <a href="http://www.StartUpCompanyWorkshop.com" target="_blank">www.StartUpCompanyWorkshop.com</a> and see if any of those questions might give you added clarity for other business model considerations for your Excel spreadsheet.</p>
<p>The important thing is to start pulling all the above components together in a working hypothesis for our business model&#8230;.and then tweak as much as needed until we have a finely tuned model that works the way you want and still reflects your vision!</p>
<p>Good luck with your Excel spreadsheet.  Just let me know when you are ready for my help.</p>
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<p class="entry"><strong>What do you think?</strong></p>
<p>Post your ideas if you have other thoughts.</p>
<p><strong>Ask YOUR Question</strong></p>
<p>Go to <a href="http://www.startupcompanyquestions.com/" target="_blank">www.StartUpCompanyQuestions.com</a> and ask your own question. You  might see it answered here &#8211; and you will get invited to a FREE teleseminar and  webcast on the “Top 21 Questions Entrepreneurs Want to Know MOST about Start Up  Companies!”</p>
<p>Robert Lee Goodman, MBA<br />
Ceo &amp; Chief Dragon Slayer<br />
<a href="http://ceoresource.com//" target="_blank">www.CeoResource.com</a></p>
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